U.S. stock futures lower near record highs, data on tap

Commodities & Futures
© Reuters.  Wall Street futures point to a slightly lower open near record highs© Reuters. Wall Street futures point to a slightly lower open near record highs

Investing.com – Wall Street futures pointed to a slightly lower open on Tuesday as investors returned from the Memorial Day weekend and the and hovered near record highs with market focus on economic reports later in the session.

The blue-chip slipped 25 points, or 0.12%, at 6:55AM ET (10:55GMT), the lost 4 points, or 0.16%, while the tech-heavy dipped 4 points, or 0.06%.

On the data front, and with the Federal Reserve (Fed) set to announce its policy decision in about two weeks’ time, attention will likely focus on the out at 8:30AM ET (12:30GMT).

Generally considered to be the Fed’s favorite inflation indicator, the annualized reading is expected to have dropped to 1.5% in April, from the prior 1.6% increase.

According to Investing.com’s , markets were currently pricing in the odds a June rate hike at around 76%, although some experts warned that .

The monthly is set for release on Friday and while the labor market is considered to be at full employment, analysts suggested to pay close attention to the annualized reading of wage inflation as the key point that the Fed will be watching before making its next move.

Also out at 8:30AM ET (12:30GMT), the Commerce Department is due to release data on and , which is expected to show a pickup in spending and income.

Furthermore, the is to report on consumer confidence for May at 10:00AM ET (14:00GMT).

The April report showed that U.S. consumer confidence declined after increasing sharply in the previous two months, but remained at strong levels, with focus remaining on when the soft data will eventually pass over to hard data readings.

Meanwhile, on Tuesday as concerns about oversupply continued to weigh, despite the American summer driving season getting underway.

Oil remained under pressure amid doubts over whether a decision by OPEC to extend a pledge to cut output until the end of the first quarter of 2018 will be enough to reduce a massive global supply glut.

fell 0.42% to $ 49.59 at 6:57AM ET (10:57GMT), while traded down 0.72% to $ 52.25.

Disclaimer:Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Commodities & Futures News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *